16
Jul
09

I Will Be Your Gyros Baby

Mystery Meat Revealed

Mystery Meat Revealed

Have you ever wondered what part of the sheep or cow those delicious cylinders of meat come from? It turns out (get it?) that the rotating grilled delicacy is a mish-mash of beef, lamb, bread crumbs, and black tar heroin.

Learn all about the fascinating history of swivelling, mouthwater gyros (properly pronounced “YEE-rose” and not “jai-rose” nor “guy rose”) here in the New York Times.

Now in Bangkok, you can find gyros at various Wrap-It franchise outlets around town.  It’s okay, but I’ve never walked out feeling like “Oh my goodness, my taste buds are basking in a post-coital glow.” 

Driving down Soi Nana, (an area known for great Middle Eastern/African fare) there is a place across from the Grace Hotel that has an outdoor gyros grill, though I wonder if Bangkok traffic pollutants add the right kind of spice to the glisteningly grilled exposed meats. 

Does anyone have any suggestions?  Any family-friendly anecdotes involving gyros?  Okay, how about some lewd ones?  Please leave a comment below.  Thanks!

4 Responses to “I Will Be Your Gyros Baby”


  1. 1 sista soldier
    July 17, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    How do they pronouce gyros in Thailand?

  2. July 20, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    all I know is when I am hammered drunk I stagger down nana for some of those yummy gyros and worth it everytime. I am also on the lookout for THE number one place so will let you know if I find it

  3. 3 Jate
    July 24, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Glad to hear Gyros are available in the homeland now. I hope they don’t go the way of Roti-boy. Are those around any more?

  4. July 24, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I have never heard of gyros before but to me it looks like donner kebab, a delicacy here in the uk only ever eaten or enjoyed when drunk


Leave a Reply

