Archive for June 2nd, 2009

02
Jun
09

This is not a Blog.

I had a dream last night that I sold the rights to my book for 20 million baht.  But when I woke up, I was not lying naked in a pile of freshly minted bills, and worse there was no book in sight (aside from the usual reading material these days).  I know I have a book in me, scribbled on scraps of paper, forgotten Word files, and in my head.  I read and write and edit for a living, words of commerce and little consequence…yet my fascination with the written word remains intact.   So maybe there’s still hope for my stillborn magnum opus(es) to be assembled and released to the world, to be torn apart by the great unwashed chattering masses.  And hopefully, find its way into a few hands and hearts.

I’m always coming across great articles that I want to share, and maybe initiate discussions.  While Thailand is great, one thing it lacks is intellectual stimulation.  Or maybe I’ve been looking in the wrong places.  Is it gauche to initiate a conversation regarding the works of Tolstoy or the direction of ASEAN policy at the Route 66 urinals?  So I’ll post links here and hope there are some cool geeks out there like me who will appreciate them and post a comment.  (I love them.  They are like intellectual Combos for me.)

I guess it will also be a nice forum to vent and rant and spill piss-and-vinegar, decorum be darned.  Oh shit, I guess technically this is a blog.